Customer Reviews
Search Category: Per Page:
Total: 546Page 30 of 55     Prev20 Prev 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 Next Next20
GIGABYTE GA-G1.SNIPER A88X Socket FM2+/ AMD A88X/ DDR3/ 2-Way CrossFireX/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-G1.SNIPER A88X Socket FM2+/ AMD A88X/ DDR3/ 2-Way CrossFireX/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-G1SPA88
   2014-04-07 10:04:51
Reviewed by Bandit from Kingsland, TX US

The Good:    Nice board with black and green color scheme, FM2+ Kaveri ready, will run with a discrete video card with an APU with integrated graphics, A88X chip set, built in audio card with Amp Up, but the amps are after market and a bit over priced at the moment. Great board for an HTPC.
The Squirrelly:    Delivery was speedy, however, I'm not really impressed how this thing was tossed in a box with inadequate packing material. A little advice when packing high end electronics, if I can shake the box and the item inside jossels around, it's not properly packaged. This board comes with the Realtek 1 through 7.1 sound chip, not the Sound Core chip like the Intel boards, so it's kind of disingenuous of Gigabyte to call it a true Sniper, it's more a Guerrilla board. It would have been nice if they offered a Sound Core option. Read up on flashing this board on AMD, Microsoft, Gigabyte websites and the forums with the latest drivers if using and FM2+ chip as they can be a bit problematic.
Pro Tip:    Whats an audio DAC? I don't really see many gamers using this, maybe a small niche of audiophiles but the built in amp up/ sound chip that it comes with works well enough, I doubt you will need a digital audio converter. All in all, it's a decent AMD board for what it is.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock G41M-VS3 R2.0 Core 2 Quad/ Intel G41/ DDR3/ A&V&L/ MATX Motherboard
ASRock G41M-VS3 R2.0 Core 2 Quad/ Intel G41/ DDR3/ A&V&L/ MATX Motherboard
Part: MB-G41MVS3
   2014-11-20 04:37:38
Reviewed by Alexander Gutman from Marlborough, MA US

The Good:    Makes a perfect Hackintosh. No DSDT required for Mavericks. Everything (sleep included) works OOB when using Multibeast 6.4 (the Atheros driver needs to be selected for the onboard LAN chip, AFAIR). Takes cheap quad-core CPUs like Q6600 and up to 8 GB of RAM.
The Squirrelly:    Offers no PCIE x1 slot, so no possibility to install a USB 3.0 adapter.
Pro Tip:    Be sure to install RAM DIMMs with bus frequencies no higher than 1333 MHz. DIMMs with higher frequencies will make this m/b hang at power-up without even POSTing.
Was this review helpful?
 
   2014-11-16 23:18:28
Reviewed by Joshua Gordon from Raleigh, NC US

The Good:    This thing can take every LGA775 modded Xeon I can throw at it, including (but not limited to) my beloved E5450. The bus speed and ability to take DDR3 put it above most other boards for this mod. ASRock also tends to keep bios support alive for ages. The small size makes it easy to work with.
The Squirrelly:    No USB 3 or SATA 3 and only 1 PCIe slot. Maximum system bus of 1333.
Pro Tip:    One of the more reliable board I have used.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock H81M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel H81/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
ASRock H81M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel H81/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
Part: MB-H81MITX
   2014-09-21 15:10:08
Reviewed by Susan Miller from Danbury, WI US

The Good:    easy setup up and running rock solid. I am using this for HTPC CASE: iStar S-0112-DT CPU: 4130T MEM: 4G (2X2G) Gskill 1600 SSD: Corsair 60G OS: openELEC
The Squirrelly:    None
Was this review helpful?
Supermicro H8DG6-F-O Dual Socket G34/ AMD SR5690/ V&2GbE/ Extended ATX Server Motherboard, Retail
Supermicro H8DG6-F-O Dual Socket G34/ AMD SR5690/ V&2GbE/ Extended ATX Server Motherboard, Retail
Part: MB-H8DG6F
   2013-02-20 16:36:42
Reviewed by Thom Stansfield from Salt Lake City, UT US

The Good:    This board is great! I had zero installation problems and my server is humming nicely. I was nervous because I couldn't find any documentation on whether or not this board would support the new Abu Dhabi AMD processors, but my 6344's were recognized right from the get go. I'm also running 64 GB of RAM using 8x8GB Kingston KVR13R9D4K4 ECC modules. I'm going to try bumping that to 128GB and see how that goes. My Dynatron A6's fit in just fine as well. Overall I'm happy.
The Squirrelly:    I'm having a hard time getting processor temps and fan speed information. Still trying to figure out why.
Pro Tip:    Nothing tricky with this board, I had a straight-forward installation. Keep in mind that it is an EATX board, so be sure to have an EATX case. I know some Supermicro boards have required a Supermicro EATX case, but this board is not one.
Was this review helpful?
Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Socket AM3+/ AMD 760G (780L)/ DDR3/ CrossFireX/ USB3.0/ A&V&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Socket AM3+/ AMD 760G (780L)/ DDR3/ CrossFireX/ USB3.0/ A&V&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
Part: MB-M5A78MU
   2014-01-17 12:36:51
Reviewed by Anonymous from Louisville, KY US

The Good:    Does everything I need it to at a great price. Would recommend.
The Squirrelly:    Could use a little more space between expansion slots as my graphics card is large and blocks the PCI slot.
Was this review helpful?
Asus P9X79 LE LGA2011/ Intel X79/ DDR3/ Quad CrossFireX&3-Way SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Asus P9X79 LE LGA2011/ Intel X79/ DDR3/ Quad CrossFireX&3-Way SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-P9X79LE
   2013-09-26 17:01:51
Reviewed by undead soul from Abington, PA US

The Good:    It is a simple motherboard for my needs. I am not an intense gamer else I may have chosen a model more suited toward grouping high-performance graphics cards.
The Squirrelly:    Had a problem with the audio after a couple of months. Eventually, I bought an external Siig USB 2.0 audio box with 24-bit HD sound to replace the on-board card.
Pro Tip:    Do not buy this model if you hope to use a long PCI card in the PCI slot. My Adaptec 39320A SCSI (PCI compatible) card cannot fit into the slot because the heat sink for the board's X79 chip is in the way.
Was this review helpful?
Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ Quad CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ Quad CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-SB990F2
   2014-10-02 02:17:31
Reviewed by Little Johnny from Northfield, OH US

The Good:    I bought this motherboard when it first came out boasting 3 PCI Express 2.0 and 6 USB 3.0 and i must say i could not be happier with this motherboard as the center of my build paired with the AMD FX8350 8 core 4.0Ghz processor along with the boards raid support and crossfire support it runs super fast, super quiet and most important super cool.
The Squirrelly:    I have nothing bad to say, this thing is awesome.
Pro Tip:    Get this motherboard and AMD FX8350 8 core 4.0Ghz processor, raid some SSDs for the boot drive, crossfire some Radeon graphics cards, at least 8 gigs of RAM and 700watt PSU, along with a sealed liquid cooling unit for the CPU and you have a higher end gaming PC for under $1000 that wont lag anything or go over 85 degrees
Was this review helpful?
Asus SABERTOOTH Z97 MARK1 LGA1150/ Intel Z97/ DDR3/ Quad CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&2GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Asus SABERTOOTH Z97 MARK1 LGA1150/ Intel Z97/ DDR3/ Quad CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&2GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-SZ97MK1
   2014-06-27 09:30:34
Reviewed by Heather Helmer from Payette, ID US

The Good:    First Fun I had in my whole history of computer building/repair. The armor is DEFINITELY something to see. One touch and you know you're looking at an amazing piece of electronics engineering, as well as a thing of physical beauty. And even putting in the low end components from the system that died, this thing runs about 2x as well as that machine ever did. The Dual interlink 1gigabit ethernet system is just amazing, although I haven't had a chance to exploit it to it's potential. Can't wait to finish the build and get this thing liquid cooled.
The Squirrelly:    Some of the instructions have minor errors, but it's nothing a little common sense doesn't straighten out right away. The HD Sound I'm having problems getting the front jacks to run a headset, and it could use a few extra dust caps for things like the USB3 internal connectors if your case doesn't have front USB3 ports. The airflow controls aren't clearly marked for heatpipe/liquid cooled mode, or CPU cooling mode.
Pro Tip:    Amazing piece of equipment. I would go back to being a professional technician if I could work exclusively with the Sabertooth boards. And I was truly proud to put the TUF "The Ultimate Force" cling-on onto the front of my case <it's a server, so the front is big enough to show it off, instead of on the side where less people will see it.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock VISION X 420D Intel Core i5-4200M/ 8GB DDR3/ 1TB HDD/ USB3.0/ DVD/ A&V&GbE/ PC Barebone System (Black), w/ MCE Remote
ASRock VISION X 420D Intel Core i5-4200M/ 8GB DDR3/ 1TB HDD/ USB3.0/ DVD/ A&V&GbE/ PC Barebone System (Black), w/ MCE Remote
Part: MB-VSX420D
   2014-05-15 06:43:17
Reviewed by Emanuel B from Amarillo, TX US

The Good:    This machine has exceeded my expectations. Although it is larger than the Brix Pro, it is still highly portable, fits well under a TV stand, and is smaller than a console. I was able to install two 2TB hard drives and a 250GB mSATA drive. I was even able to upgrade the CPU chip to an i7-4702MQ without much trouble. The heat temperatures of the CPU are rather outstanding when compared to the Brix Pro which can go as high as 100C when gaming versus 82C for the VisionX. My Steam games and high end emulators run extremely well at 1080P without overheating or throttling. It is also not noisy at all. In addition, XBMC runs like a dream on this machine. ASRock definitely hit a home run with this model. In fact, while the Brix Pros are getting all the attention, Gigabyte should seriously take some lessons from ASRock on how to build a mini-gaming PC! I absolutely love my ASRock VisionX and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a mini-gaming PC. A+ for ASRock!
The Squirrelly:    I was initially stuck when I was trying to install the second 2.5" hard drive. I didn't know how to do it since the manual didn't explain it well. However, all the cables were included and after studying the motherboard and the enclosed cables, I figured it out. With the second hard drive installed, it will be a little tricky to open the machine if I ever need to change or upgrade anything in the future. Finally, The i7-4702MQ doesn't do too well with the Prime 95 Torture Test unlike the original installed i5-4200M cpu.
Pro Tip:    CPU i5-4200M: Idle: 55C, Surfing: 63C, 1080P movie: 60C, Steam Games: 77C, PSX2 emulator: 81C, Dolphin emulator: 81C, Prime 95 Torture Test for 16 minutes: 84C CPU i7-4702MQ: Idle: 59C, Surfing: 67C, 1080P Movie: 64C, Steam Games: 77C, PSX2 emulator: 80C, Dolphin emulator: 82C, Prime 95 Torture Test for 5 minutes: 100C (1 core) rest of the 3 cores at 98C
Was this review helpful?
Asus X79-DELUXE LGA2011/ Intel X79/ DDR3/ Quad CrossFireX & 3-Way SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ WiFi/ A&2GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Asus X79-DELUXE LGA2011/ Intel X79/ DDR3/ Quad CrossFireX & 3-Way SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ WiFi/ A&2GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-X79DELX
   2014-01-19 07:59:37
Reviewed by Anonymous from Peru, NY US

The Good:    Insane amount of room for add-ons, 64GB RAM, literally over a dozen USB ports, and lots of features like the q-code display which take the guesswork out of installation. IT LOOKS SO GOOD! The gold accents on the passive cooling blocks look amazing.
The Squirrelly:    The Price, although so far I feel I've got what I paid for and am very happy.
Was this review helpful?


Receive exclusive email offers, coupons, and more!

Write one!
Very fast shipping and great price
I ordered this Blu Ray drive yesterday around noon and checked the tracking today and it was out for delivery. I believe it was less than 24 hours from the time I ordered until it got here, and the sh...
(more)
-Jeffrey Henager
See more testimonials