Customer Reviews
Search Category: Per Page:
Total: 565Page 30 of 57     Prev20 Prev 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 Next Next20
SYBA SD-V2-5U 5-Port USB 2.0 PCI Controller Card w/ NEC 720100 Chipset
SYBA SD-V2-5U 5-Port USB 2.0 PCI Controller Card w/ NEC 720100 Chipset
Part: KW-USB_2.0
 Best upgrade  2007-10-26 09:34:30
Reviewed by Justin Chang from Trenton, NJ US

I needed more USB ports than my computer supplied. This is the perfect solution because it is so easy to install and use.
Was this review helpful?
 
 Great Upgrade  2006-09-29 20:27:50
Reviewed by BigA from Waxahachie, TX US

With an internal USB ports, this card enables the newer USB tape drives to be mounted in a 5.25 or 3.5" bay. Easily adds more ports, but with the latest boards limited on the PCI slots, you need to be careful. A must for older systems or those needing the internal port. Good upgrade, just need more internal PCI slots.
Was this review helpful?
 
 Great USB 2.0 Card  2006-08-19 16:15:15
Reviewed by Anonymous from Cincinnati, OH US

This is an easy way to boost the productivity and functionality of your computer. It boasts 4 USB 2.0 slots and is very easy to install.
Was this review helpful?
Linksys WRT54GL Wireless-G Broadband Router
Linksys WRT54GL Wireless-G Broadband Router
Part: LS-WRT54GL
 the best products  2007-11-13 09:47:55
Reviewed by Anonymous from Denver, CO US

Great features even without a firmware upgrade. Good antennas, separate rx/tx if you want. Never overheats. Easy to upgrade firmware. Quite possibly the biggest community for any hardware I can think of (minus cpus).
Was this review helpful?
 
 Good choice .  2007-02-28 17:54:55
Reviewed by Jeff Richmond from Menifee, CA US

Replaced a dead Neatgear with this baby and everything is working fine on factory filmware . Going to do the DD-WRT filmware pretty soon as the factory filmware is a tad lacking in features ; BUT isnt this the REAL reason for purchasing the "L" model anyways (lol) . Bottom line ... good all around router than can be made fantasic with a little flashing .
Was this review helpful?
 
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 Linksys + Open Source Expansion...  2006-08-30 20:21:06
Reviewed by Anonymous from Marietta, GA US

Linksys' reliable and highly compatible hardware designs combined with the ability to modify the router's software to your exact specifications is an unbeatable value. The WRT54GL (L for Linux) is made for third-party firmwares, turning your router into a $1000 enterprise appliance.
Was this review helpful?
 
All Reviews (6) >>

LSI 9211-8i 8-Port 6Gb/s SAS/SATA PCI-Express x8 Internal RAID Host Bus Adapter
LSI 9211-8i 8-Port 6Gb/s SAS/SATA PCI-Express x8 Internal RAID Host Bus Adapter
Part: LSI92118IK
   2011-05-13 00:41:57
Reviewed by Two Bears from Las Vegas, NV US

The Good:    This is a GREAT entry level card. It supports 6 Gb/s SAS drives. I'm using 6 of the new Seagate Cheetah 15K.7 300GB drives, and 2 Seagate 6Gb/s SATA 1TB drives on it, and they are FAST. I do NOT buy into benchmarks. TOO many variables to use them for ANYTHING but using on ONE computer, and comparing drives on that ONE computer, with all else the same. Even then, I don't put much stock in them. BUT, in actual operation, they SCREAM. Card really works well, simple to install and setup.
The Squirrelly:    I'd LOVE to have some Write Back/Through Cache. BUT, IF it did, it would cost another 100$ MINIMUM. AND, you'd have to buy a 150$ or so "Optional Battery Pack". SO, for this "WORKSTATION", I'll stick with the 9211. IF you just HAVE to have that cache, buy the 9260-4i or 8i. BUT, be prepared to PAY a LOT more. And, don't forget the "Optional" battery pack, that really isn't optional, at least not to me, you BETTER have it!
Pro Tip:    Make CERTAIN to update to the latest firmware before initial install. I always contact LSI prior to initial install, and see what they say about updating the firmware. ONCE, they had a update, but it wasn't on the web yet, so they put it somewhere for me, and emailed me a URL. They are great. WHOLE company is great. Oh, and calling this a "entry level" card, I may be doing it a disservice. It is really good. Just missing a few things the HIGH dollar cards do. But, it is made for a certain purpose and application/s. Within that purpose, there is nothing "ENTRY LEVEL" about it.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock 970 EXTREME4 Socket AM3+/ AMD 970/ AMD Quad CrossFireX& nVidia SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
ASRock 970 EXTREME4 Socket AM3+/ AMD 970/ AMD Quad CrossFireX& nVidia SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-970EX4
   2013-04-07 16:18:04
Reviewed by Crossbay from Indianapolis, IN US

The Good:    AWESOME mobo! Had it since Dec. 2011. First had an old RANA X3 435 in it (unlocked to X4,) but recently upgraded to a FX-6100. I did have to update the Bios nuy I got mine 16 months ago. USB 3 & SATA III support Supports AMD OverDrive SLI & CrossFireX support Unlocked my old Athlon II X3 435 Rana to a Quad-core, Runs my new FX-6100 flaelessly (after a bios update) Comes with decent software, specially AFastLAN which is really cFosSpeed's traffic shaping software Solid State Caps all around AHCI support
The Squirrelly:    I've had this mobo for a while now, I'm pretty sure the USB is a bit...glitchy. Don't seem to affect anything else. Keyboard and mouse seem to work fine. Doesn't like to run audio through USB. I switched to 3.5mm for all audio. Wish it had one more SATA port I'm reaching at this point for a con
Pro Tip:    If you game, use the XFast LAN software to lower your ping and prioritize your gaming. I've considered trying out ASRock for about 6 or 7 years. I had read many reviews that praised their mobos, stating how stable they were and boosting about overclock ability. I did some research into the company and learned how they were created by ASUS to compete in the OEM market. ASRock was under PEGATRON, a subsidiary of ASUStek, and PEGATRON was later merged with Pegatron International Investment Co., Ltd. and is now it's own independent company. I build & repair PCs and eventually ended up building a few systems with various ASRock mobos and that's what convinced me to try ASRock in my own gaming system. I'm very pleased with this ASRock mobo after over 18 months of use. I use my system to game, and to fold GPU & SMP work units for the Folding @ Home project. The UEFI is a nice improvement over the old Bios screen. I still haven't tried the XFastUSB or XFastRAM software.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock 990FX EXTREME3 Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ AMD Quad CrossFireX& nVidia Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
ASRock 990FX EXTREME3 Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ AMD Quad CrossFireX& nVidia Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-990EX3
   2014-01-12 14:42:24
Reviewed by Anonymous from SELMA, TX US

The Good:    Boots up quick. Unlocked all 6 cores on a 960T that another Asus 990FX board would not do. ASRock customer service did back up their product and issue replacement boards relatively quickly- thus the reason for 2 stars.
The Squirrelly:    Sketchy motherboard in general. Both of these that I tried did not like to boot up consistently. ASRock boot failure guard is a strange animal: it will lower FSB, memory or CPU clock speed without notifying you if it fails to boot sometimes. The first board I had would occasionally fail to resume from standby in Win XP and always required at least 2 boot attempts if I ran the CPU unlocked on all 6 cores. Also was unable to control CPU core voltage so not much potential to overclock. I RMAd the first board and it's replacement was used in a totally different system with all different components. Initially seemed ok but then failure guard started dropping the memory speed down to 1066mhz out of the blue... seemed to get that issue sorted with some manual timing settings then installed Win 7. On the 2nd day the system would freeze fairly consistently after about 5 mins running, swapped boot drive to a different SATA and no more freezing but instead became totally unstable.
Pro Tip:    Motherboard was replaced by a different model in both systems and issues were resolved. Between initial purchase costs and shipping I have a great deal of money and time tied up into these mobos and got nothing to show for it. Ultimately I'll be lucky to recover half of my costs... My advice to you is to stay away from this one. You'll probably have better luck with this board running a lower wattage cpu- more power demand seemed to bring more problems. FYI there are mobos with better power phase setups for this money out there.
Was this review helpful?
GIGABYTE GA-F2A88XM-D3H Socket FM2+/ AMD A88X/ DDR3/ 2-Way CrossFireX/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-F2A88XM-D3H Socket FM2+/ AMD A88X/ DDR3/ 2-Way CrossFireX/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
Part: MB-A88MD3H
   2014-03-16 12:23:31
Reviewed by F. Carr from Puyallup, WA US

The Good:    A nice board. I have been leaning towards Gigabyte, the past few builds for features, as well as price. They had been very quick in responding to any technical questions, & their website is filled with information, links & support. The board is well built, & doesn't feel flimsy. Everything is laid out in a common fashion, with out any surprises. Even the manuals are clearly pictured. I do wish there was more basic build information available, but no one does that any more. Everything on the board is marked clearly, & if you don't know what an abbreviation is, the manual does add a little more. Their boards include things you really don't think about, & do their job.
The Squirrelly:    Nothing bad really. Even the boxes are highly informative & decorated.
Pro Tip:    A very fast board. Be sure to be ready to hit delete the moment the fan spins to get to the bios. I like that you can use the mouse now, in the bios, but being old school, still use the arrows & keys. Some of the wording has changed a little over time, & the information on the right is still only slightly helpful. But if you know to get here, you know what you're doing.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock B85M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel B85/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
ASRock B85M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel B85/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
Part: MB-B85MITX
   2014-09-30 12:36:58
Reviewed by JohmM from Marshall, WI US

The Good:    New version 4 sata ports, plus esata. USB 3.0 motherboard header. 1600 ram support. HDMI out. Works with core i3 4360 with bios 1.80 or later mine came with ver. 2.00 I updated it to ver. 2.20.
The Squirrelly:    Everything was new that I installed with this motherboard. When I went to do windows 7 rating it showed hardware change, refresh now WHAT? tells me that something was installed on it before. Iv'e built about 10 computers and this is the first one that's showed that. Had to reinstall realtek HD audio drivers headphones didn't work at first but all is good now.
Pro Tip:    Great motherboard everything works that I've tested. Samsung 840 Evo 120Gb, 1 Tb WD black, Team Vulcan DDR3 2x4Gb TLYD38G1600HC9DC01. Ram showed up as 1333 just set to 1600 in bios.
Was this review helpful?
Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z Republic of Gamers Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE ATX Motherboard
Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z Republic of Gamers Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-CRSH5FZ
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:
   2012-12-28 11:41:09
Reviewed by gpscientist from Tracy, CA US

The Good:    Several years ago I upgraded to an i7, 8 threaded an electromagnetic code, & got a speed-up of 8. I was hoping to get a speed-up of something close to 4 more with the AMD FX-8350 (Black Ed)+Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z combo using the new VEX vector operations that do 4 floating ops/command. When I turned on VEX in the compiler I got a 5% speed-up. I studied the resulting assembler code, made changes, & now have a 15% speed-up. If I figure out how to make a signigicant increase in speed, I'll update this posting (if I can).
The Squirrelly:    I haven't done assembly coding for a long time, so I might be overlooking something.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock Rack E3C224-4L LGA1150/ Intel C224/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ V&4GbE/ ATX Server Motherboard
ASRock Rack E3C224-4L LGA1150/ Intel C224/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ V&4GbE/ ATX Server Motherboard
Part: MB-E3C2244
   2014-04-24 16:40:08
Reviewed by Anonymous from ,

The Good:    I am very happy with this product. Currently using it for a test machine for MS 2008 R2 Hyper-v. Got two intel 3500 series in RAID0 and two Seagate Constellation ES.3 HD in RAID0. 32GB total of Kingston ValueRAM KVR16N11K2/16. Everything flies.
The Squirrelly:    Go for it.
Pro Tip:    I would definitely buy again
Was this review helpful?
GIGABYTE GA-G1.SNIPER A88X Socket FM2+/ AMD A88X/ DDR3/ 2-Way CrossFireX/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-G1.SNIPER A88X Socket FM2+/ AMD A88X/ DDR3/ 2-Way CrossFireX/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-G1SPA88
   2014-04-07 10:04:51
Reviewed by Bandit from Kingsland, TX US

The Good:    Nice board with black and green color scheme, FM2+ Kaveri ready, will run with a discrete video card with an APU with integrated graphics, A88X chip set, built in audio card with Amp Up, but the amps are after market and a bit over priced at the moment. Great board for an HTPC.
The Squirrelly:    Delivery was speedy, however, I'm not really impressed how this thing was tossed in a box with inadequate packing material. A little advice when packing high end electronics, if I can shake the box and the item inside jossels around, it's not properly packaged. This board comes with the Realtek 1 through 7.1 sound chip, not the Sound Core chip like the Intel boards, so it's kind of disingenuous of Gigabyte to call it a true Sniper, it's more a Guerrilla board. It would have been nice if they offered a Sound Core option. Read up on flashing this board on AMD, Microsoft, Gigabyte websites and the forums with the latest drivers if using and FM2+ chip as they can be a bit problematic.
Pro Tip:    Whats an audio DAC? I don't really see many gamers using this, maybe a small niche of audiophiles but the built in amp up/ sound chip that it comes with works well enough, I doubt you will need a digital audio converter. All in all, it's a decent AMD board for what it is.
Was this review helpful?


Receive exclusive email offers, coupons, and more!

Write one!
Astounding Customer Service!
This was the first "real" computer that I've had built just for me. Superbiiz had the best prices overall and the best value. Shipping was very quick and emails were answered promptly. I've ...
(more)
-Mark H.
See more testimonials