Customer Reviews
Search Category: Per Page:
Total: 526Page 28 of 53     Prev20 Prev 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 Next Next20
ASRock 990FX EXTREME3 Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ AMD Quad CrossFireX& nVidia Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
ASRock 990FX EXTREME3 Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ AMD Quad CrossFireX& nVidia Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-990EX3
   2014-01-12 14:42:24
Reviewed by Anonymous from SELMA, TX US

The Good:    Boots up quick. Unlocked all 6 cores on a 960T that another Asus 990FX board would not do. ASRock customer service did back up their product and issue replacement boards relatively quickly- thus the reason for 2 stars.
The Squirrelly:    Sketchy motherboard in general. Both of these that I tried did not like to boot up consistently. ASRock boot failure guard is a strange animal: it will lower FSB, memory or CPU clock speed without notifying you if it fails to boot sometimes. The first board I had would occasionally fail to resume from standby in Win XP and always required at least 2 boot attempts if I ran the CPU unlocked on all 6 cores. Also was unable to control CPU core voltage so not much potential to overclock. I RMAd the first board and it's replacement was used in a totally different system with all different components. Initially seemed ok but then failure guard started dropping the memory speed down to 1066mhz out of the blue... seemed to get that issue sorted with some manual timing settings then installed Win 7. On the 2nd day the system would freeze fairly consistently after about 5 mins running, swapped boot drive to a different SATA and no more freezing but instead became totally unstable.
Pro Tip:    Motherboard was replaced by a different model in both systems and issues were resolved. Between initial purchase costs and shipping I have a great deal of money and time tied up into these mobos and got nothing to show for it. Ultimately I'll be lucky to recover half of my costs... My advice to you is to stay away from this one. You'll probably have better luck with this board running a lower wattage cpu- more power demand seemed to bring more problems. FYI there are mobos with better power phase setups for this money out there.
Was this review helpful?
GIGABYTE GA-F2A88XM-D3H Socket FM2+/ AMD A88X/ DDR3/ 2-Way CrossFireX/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-F2A88XM-D3H Socket FM2+/ AMD A88X/ DDR3/ 2-Way CrossFireX/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
Part: MB-A88MD3H
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:
   2014-03-16 12:23:31
Reviewed by F. Carr from Puyallup, WA US

The Good:    A nice board. I have been leaning towards Gigabyte, the past few builds for features, as well as price. They had been very quick in responding to any technical questions, & their website is filled with information, links & support. The board is well built, & doesn't feel flimsy. Everything is laid out in a common fashion, with out any surprises. Even the manuals are clearly pictured. I do wish there was more basic build information available, but no one does that any more. Everything on the board is marked clearly, & if you don't know what an abbreviation is, the manual does add a little more. Their boards include things you really don't think about, & do their job.
The Squirrelly:    Nothing bad really. Even the boxes are highly informative & decorated.
Pro Tip:    A very fast board. Be sure to be ready to hit delete the moment the fan spins to get to the bios. I like that you can use the mouse now, in the bios, but being old school, still use the arrows & keys. Some of the wording has changed a little over time, & the information on the right is still only slightly helpful. But if you know to get here, you know what you're doing.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock B85M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel B85/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
ASRock B85M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel B85/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
Part: MB-B85MITX
   2014-09-30 12:36:58
Reviewed by JohmM from Marshall, WI US

The Good:    New version 4 sata ports, plus esata. USB 3.0 motherboard header. 1600 ram support. HDMI out. Works with core i3 4360 with bios 1.80 or later mine came with ver. 2.00 I updated it to ver. 2.20.
The Squirrelly:    Everything was new that I installed with this motherboard. When I went to do windows 7 rating it showed hardware change, refresh now WHAT? tells me that something was installed on it before. Iv'e built about 10 computers and this is the first one that's showed that. Had to reinstall realtek HD audio drivers headphones didn't work at first but all is good now.
Pro Tip:    Great motherboard everything works that I've tested. Samsung 840 Evo 120Gb, 1 Tb WD black, Team Vulcan DDR3 2x4Gb TLYD38G1600HC9DC01. Ram showed up as 1333 just set to 1600 in bios.
Was this review helpful?
Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z Republic of Gamers Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE ATX Motherboard
Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z Republic of Gamers Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-CRSH5FZ
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:
   2012-12-28 11:41:09
Reviewed by gpscientist from Tracy, CA US

The Good:    Several years ago I upgraded to an i7, 8 threaded an electromagnetic code, & got a speed-up of 8. I was hoping to get a speed-up of something close to 4 more with the AMD FX-8350 (Black Ed)+Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z combo using the new VEX vector operations that do 4 floating ops/command. When I turned on VEX in the compiler I got a 5% speed-up. I studied the resulting assembler code, made changes, & now have a 15% speed-up. If I figure out how to make a signigicant increase in speed, I'll update this posting (if I can).
The Squirrelly:    I haven't done assembly coding for a long time, so I might be overlooking something.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock Rack E3C224-4L LGA1150/ Intel C224/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ V&4GbE/ ATX Server Motherboard
ASRock Rack E3C224-4L LGA1150/ Intel C224/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ V&4GbE/ ATX Server Motherboard
Part: MB-E3C2244
   2014-04-24 16:40:08
Reviewed by Anonymous from ,

The Good:    I am very happy with this product. Currently using it for a test machine for MS 2008 R2 Hyper-v. Got two intel 3500 series in RAID0 and two Seagate Constellation ES.3 HD in RAID0. 32GB total of Kingston ValueRAM KVR16N11K2/16. Everything flies.
The Squirrelly:    Go for it.
Pro Tip:    I would definitely buy again
Was this review helpful?
ASRock G41M-VS3 R2.0 Core 2 Quad/ Intel G41/ DDR3/ A&V&L/ MATX Motherboard
ASRock G41M-VS3 R2.0 Core 2 Quad/ Intel G41/ DDR3/ A&V&L/ MATX Motherboard
Part: MB-G41MVS3
   2014-11-20 04:37:38
Reviewed by Alexander Gutman from Marlborough, MA US

The Good:    Makes a perfect Hackintosh. No DSDT required for Mavericks. Everything (sleep included) works OOB when using Multibeast 6.4 (the Atheros driver needs to be selected for the onboard LAN chip, AFAIR). Takes cheap quad-core CPUs like Q6600 and up to 8 GB of RAM.
The Squirrelly:    Offers no PCIE x1 slot, so no possibility to install a USB 3.0 adapter.
Pro Tip:    Be sure to install RAM DIMMs with bus frequencies no higher than 1333 MHz. DIMMs with higher frequencies will make this m/b hang at power-up without even POSTing.
Was this review helpful?
 
   2014-11-16 23:18:28
Reviewed by Joshua Gordon from Raleigh, NC US

The Good:    This thing can take every LGA775 modded Xeon I can throw at it, including (but not limited to) my beloved E5450. The bus speed and ability to take DDR3 put it above most other boards for this mod. ASRock also tends to keep bios support alive for ages. The small size makes it easy to work with.
The Squirrelly:    No USB 3 or SATA 3 and only 1 PCIe slot. Maximum system bus of 1333.
Pro Tip:    One of the more reliable board I have used.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock H81M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel H81/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
ASRock H81M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel H81/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
Part: MB-H81MITX
   2014-09-21 15:10:08
Reviewed by Susan Miller from Danbury, WI US

The Good:    easy setup up and running rock solid. I am using this for HTPC CASE: iStar S-0112-DT CPU: 4130T MEM: 4G (2X2G) Gskill 1600 SSD: Corsair 60G OS: openELEC
The Squirrelly:    None
Was this review helpful?
Supermicro H8DG6-F-O Dual Socket G34/ AMD SR5690/ V&2GbE/ Extended ATX Server Motherboard, Retail
Supermicro H8DG6-F-O Dual Socket G34/ AMD SR5690/ V&2GbE/ Extended ATX Server Motherboard, Retail
Part: MB-H8DG6F
   2013-02-20 16:36:42
Reviewed by Thom Stansfield from Salt Lake City, UT US

The Good:    This board is great! I had zero installation problems and my server is humming nicely. I was nervous because I couldn't find any documentation on whether or not this board would support the new Abu Dhabi AMD processors, but my 6344's were recognized right from the get go. I'm also running 64 GB of RAM using 8x8GB Kingston KVR13R9D4K4 ECC modules. I'm going to try bumping that to 128GB and see how that goes. My Dynatron A6's fit in just fine as well. Overall I'm happy.
The Squirrelly:    I'm having a hard time getting processor temps and fan speed information. Still trying to figure out why.
Pro Tip:    Nothing tricky with this board, I had a straight-forward installation. Keep in mind that it is an EATX board, so be sure to have an EATX case. I know some Supermicro boards have required a Supermicro EATX case, but this board is not one.
Was this review helpful?
Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Socket AM3+/ AMD 760G (780L)/ DDR3/ CrossFireX/ USB3.0/ A&V&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Socket AM3+/ AMD 760G (780L)/ DDR3/ CrossFireX/ USB3.0/ A&V&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
Part: MB-M5A78MU
   2014-01-17 12:36:51
Reviewed by Anonymous from Louisville, KY US

The Good:    Does everything I need it to at a great price. Would recommend.
The Squirrelly:    Could use a little more space between expansion slots as my graphics card is large and blocks the PCI slot.
Was this review helpful?
Asus P9X79 LE LGA2011/ Intel X79/ DDR3/ Quad CrossFireX&3-Way SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Asus P9X79 LE LGA2011/ Intel X79/ DDR3/ Quad CrossFireX&3-Way SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-P9X79LE
   2013-09-26 17:01:51
Reviewed by undead soul from Abington, PA US

The Good:    It is a simple motherboard for my needs. I am not an intense gamer else I may have chosen a model more suited toward grouping high-performance graphics cards.
The Squirrelly:    Had a problem with the audio after a couple of months. Eventually, I bought an external Siig USB 2.0 audio box with 24-bit HD sound to replace the on-board card.
Pro Tip:    Do not buy this model if you hope to use a long PCI card in the PCI slot. My Adaptec 39320A SCSI (PCI compatible) card cannot fit into the slot because the heat sink for the board's X79 chip is in the way.
Was this review helpful?


Receive exclusive email offers, coupons, and more!

Write one!
Faster shipping than Amazon!
Super fast shipping! Faster than Amazon prime! Exceeded my expectations.
-Anonymous
See more testimonials