Customer Reviews
Search Category: Per Page:
Total: 484Page 27 of 49     Prev20 Prev 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 Next Next20
Supermicro A1SRM-2558F-O Intel Atom C2558/ DDR3/ SATA3/ V&4GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard & CPU Combo
Supermicro A1SRM-2558F-O Intel Atom C2558/ DDR3/ SATA3/ V&4GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard & CPU Combo
Part: MB-A1RM25
   2015-07-09 08:14:13
Reviewed by Clueless from Redwood City, CA US

The Good:    quad Intel GigE, 6 SATA, real server management support, decent computing power but very modest power consumption. Small form factor. Very good documentation on web site. BIOS update(s) and utilities worked well. A big improvement over the inexpensive desktop board (supporting ECC) that I tried first. Will go straight to this board (or other Supermicro) in the future for my server needs. Regarding power consumption, I measured a total draw from the wall at only 18W. That is this board, with Seasonic SS-300ET and a Samsung 850 EVO. While running OpenBSD 5.7. Running "openssl speed" does not increase that measurably.
The Squirrelly:    Not inexpensive. Valuable server features can make use and installation more complicated than for a typical desktop board. Only three fan speed settings, which appear to apply simultaneously to all three case fans. Fan control only works with 4 wire, PWM fans. Requires UDIMMs, which are more expensive than standard DDR3 DIMMs. Only available UDIMMs on QVL are much more expensive than standard DDR3. ( But I used them anyway )
Pro Tip:    Must choose power supply that works with Intel Haswell, so it will stay in regulation at the very power required here.
Was this review helpful?
GIGABYTE GA-F2A88XM-D3H Socket FM2+/ AMD A88X/ DDR3/ 2-Way CrossFireX/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-F2A88XM-D3H Socket FM2+/ AMD A88X/ DDR3/ 2-Way CrossFireX/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
Part: MB-A88MD3H
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:
   2014-03-16 12:23:31
Reviewed by F. Carr from Puyallup, WA US

The Good:    A nice board. I have been leaning towards Gigabyte, the past few builds for features, as well as price. They had been very quick in responding to any technical questions, & their website is filled with information, links & support. The board is well built, & doesn't feel flimsy. Everything is laid out in a common fashion, with out any surprises. Even the manuals are clearly pictured. I do wish there was more basic build information available, but no one does that any more. Everything on the board is marked clearly, & if you don't know what an abbreviation is, the manual does add a little more. Their boards include things you really don't think about, & do their job.
The Squirrelly:    Nothing bad really. Even the boxes are highly informative & decorated.
Pro Tip:    A very fast board. Be sure to be ready to hit delete the moment the fan spins to get to the bios. I like that you can use the mouse now, in the bios, but being old school, still use the arrows & keys. Some of the wording has changed a little over time, & the information on the right is still only slightly helpful. But if you know to get here, you know what you're doing.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock B85M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel B85/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
ASRock B85M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel B85/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
Part: MB-B85MITX
   2014-09-30 12:36:58
Reviewed by JohmM from Marshall, WI US

The Good:    New version 4 sata ports, plus esata. USB 3.0 motherboard header. 1600 ram support. HDMI out. Works with core i3 4360 with bios 1.80 or later mine came with ver. 2.00 I updated it to ver. 2.20.
The Squirrelly:    Everything was new that I installed with this motherboard. When I went to do windows 7 rating it showed hardware change, refresh now WHAT? tells me that something was installed on it before. Iv'e built about 10 computers and this is the first one that's showed that. Had to reinstall realtek HD audio drivers headphones didn't work at first but all is good now.
Pro Tip:    Great motherboard everything works that I've tested. Samsung 840 Evo 120Gb, 1 Tb WD black, Team Vulcan DDR3 2x4Gb TLYD38G1600HC9DC01. Ram showed up as 1333 just set to 1600 in bios.
Was this review helpful?
Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z Republic of Gamers Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE ATX Motherboard
Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z Republic of Gamers Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-CRSH5FZ
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:
   2012-12-28 11:41:09
Reviewed by gpscientist from Tracy, CA US

The Good:    Several years ago I upgraded to an i7, 8 threaded an electromagnetic code, & got a speed-up of 8. I was hoping to get a speed-up of something close to 4 more with the AMD FX-8350 (Black Ed)+Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z combo using the new VEX vector operations that do 4 floating ops/command. When I turned on VEX in the compiler I got a 5% speed-up. I studied the resulting assembler code, made changes, & now have a 15% speed-up. If I figure out how to make a signigicant increase in speed, I'll update this posting (if I can).
The Squirrelly:    I haven't done assembly coding for a long time, so I might be overlooking something.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock Rack E3C224-4L LGA1150/ Intel C224/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ V&4GbE/ ATX Server Motherboard
ASRock Rack E3C224-4L LGA1150/ Intel C224/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ V&4GbE/ ATX Server Motherboard
Part: MB-E3C2244
   2014-04-24 16:40:08
Reviewed by Anonymous from ,

The Good:    I am very happy with this product. Currently using it for a test machine for MS 2008 R2 Hyper-v. Got two intel 3500 series in RAID0 and two Seagate Constellation ES.3 HD in RAID0. 32GB total of Kingston ValueRAM KVR16N11K2/16. Everything flies.
The Squirrelly:    Go for it.
Pro Tip:    I would definitely buy again
Was this review helpful?
ASRock G41M-VS3 R2.0 Core 2 Quad/ Intel G41/ DDR3/ A&V&L/ MATX Motherboard
ASRock G41M-VS3 R2.0 Core 2 Quad/ Intel G41/ DDR3/ A&V&L/ MATX Motherboard
Part: MB-G41MVS3
   2014-11-20 04:37:38
Reviewed by Alexander Gutman from Marlborough, MA US

The Good:    Makes a perfect Hackintosh. No DSDT required for Mavericks. Everything (sleep included) works OOB when using Multibeast 6.4 (the Atheros driver needs to be selected for the onboard LAN chip, AFAIR). Takes cheap quad-core CPUs like Q6600 and up to 8 GB of RAM.
The Squirrelly:    Offers no PCIE x1 slot, so no possibility to install a USB 3.0 adapter.
Pro Tip:    Be sure to install RAM DIMMs with bus frequencies no higher than 1333 MHz. DIMMs with higher frequencies will make this m/b hang at power-up without even POSTing.
Was this review helpful?
 
   2014-11-16 23:18:28
Reviewed by Joshua Gordon from Raleigh, NC US

The Good:    This thing can take every LGA775 modded Xeon I can throw at it, including (but not limited to) my beloved E5450. The bus speed and ability to take DDR3 put it above most other boards for this mod. ASRock also tends to keep bios support alive for ages. The small size makes it easy to work with.
The Squirrelly:    No USB 3 or SATA 3 and only 1 PCIe slot. Maximum system bus of 1333.
Pro Tip:    One of the more reliable board I have used.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock H81M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel H81/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
ASRock H81M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel H81/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
Part: MB-H81MITX
   2014-09-21 15:10:08
Reviewed by Susan Miller from Danbury, WI US

The Good:    easy setup up and running rock solid. I am using this for HTPC CASE: iStar S-0112-DT CPU: 4130T MEM: 4G (2X2G) Gskill 1600 SSD: Corsair 60G OS: openELEC
The Squirrelly:    None
Was this review helpful?
Supermicro H8DG6-F-O Dual Socket G34/ AMD SR5690/ V&2GbE/ Extended ATX Server Motherboard, Retail
Supermicro H8DG6-F-O Dual Socket G34/ AMD SR5690/ V&2GbE/ Extended ATX Server Motherboard, Retail
Part: MB-H8DG6F
   2013-02-20 16:36:42
Reviewed by Thom Stansfield from Salt Lake City, UT US

The Good:    This board is great! I had zero installation problems and my server is humming nicely. I was nervous because I couldn't find any documentation on whether or not this board would support the new Abu Dhabi AMD processors, but my 6344's were recognized right from the get go. I'm also running 64 GB of RAM using 8x8GB Kingston KVR13R9D4K4 ECC modules. I'm going to try bumping that to 128GB and see how that goes. My Dynatron A6's fit in just fine as well. Overall I'm happy.
The Squirrelly:    I'm having a hard time getting processor temps and fan speed information. Still trying to figure out why.
Pro Tip:    Nothing tricky with this board, I had a straight-forward installation. Keep in mind that it is an EATX board, so be sure to have an EATX case. I know some Supermicro boards have required a Supermicro EATX case, but this board is not one.
Was this review helpful?
Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Socket AM3+/ AMD 760G (780L)/ DDR3/ CrossFireX/ USB3.0/ A&V&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
Asus M5A78L-M/USB3 Socket AM3+/ AMD 760G (780L)/ DDR3/ CrossFireX/ USB3.0/ A&V&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
Part: MB-M5A78MU
   2014-01-17 12:36:51
Reviewed by Anonymous from Louisville, KY US

The Good:    Does everything I need it to at a great price. Would recommend.
The Squirrelly:    Could use a little more space between expansion slots as my graphics card is large and blocks the PCI slot.
Was this review helpful?
Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ Quad CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Asus SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ Quad CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-SB990F2
   2014-10-02 02:17:31
Reviewed by Little Johnny from Northfield, OH US

The Good:    I bought this motherboard when it first came out boasting 3 PCI Express 2.0 and 6 USB 3.0 and i must say i could not be happier with this motherboard as the center of my build paired with the AMD FX8350 8 core 4.0Ghz processor along with the boards raid support and crossfire support it runs super fast, super quiet and most important super cool.
The Squirrelly:    I have nothing bad to say, this thing is awesome.
Pro Tip:    Get this motherboard and AMD FX8350 8 core 4.0Ghz processor, raid some SSDs for the boot drive, crossfire some Radeon graphics cards, at least 8 gigs of RAM and 700watt PSU, along with a sealed liquid cooling unit for the CPU and you have a higher end gaming PC for under $1000 that wont lag anything or go over 85 degrees
Was this review helpful?


Receive exclusive email offers, coupons, and more!

Write one!
Awsome!
I have to admit, I was blown away at the speed of delivery! Arrived in perfect condition!
-Ruben Sepulveda
See more testimonials