Customer Reviews
Search Category: Per Page:
Total: 442Page 25 of 45     Prev20 Prev 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 Next Next20
ASRock 990FX EXTREME3 Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ AMD Quad CrossFireX& nVidia Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
ASRock 990FX EXTREME3 Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ AMD Quad CrossFireX& nVidia Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-990EX3
   2014-01-12 14:42:24
Reviewed by Anonymous from SELMA, TX US

The Good:    Boots up quick. Unlocked all 6 cores on a 960T that another Asus 990FX board would not do. ASRock customer service did back up their product and issue replacement boards relatively quickly- thus the reason for 2 stars.
The Squirrelly:    Sketchy motherboard in general. Both of these that I tried did not like to boot up consistently. ASRock boot failure guard is a strange animal: it will lower FSB, memory or CPU clock speed without notifying you if it fails to boot sometimes. The first board I had would occasionally fail to resume from standby in Win XP and always required at least 2 boot attempts if I ran the CPU unlocked on all 6 cores. Also was unable to control CPU core voltage so not much potential to overclock. I RMAd the first board and it's replacement was used in a totally different system with all different components. Initially seemed ok but then failure guard started dropping the memory speed down to 1066mhz out of the blue... seemed to get that issue sorted with some manual timing settings then installed Win 7. On the 2nd day the system would freeze fairly consistently after about 5 mins running, swapped boot drive to a different SATA and no more freezing but instead became totally unstable.
Pro Tip:    Motherboard was replaced by a different model in both systems and issues were resolved. Between initial purchase costs and shipping I have a great deal of money and time tied up into these mobos and got nothing to show for it. Ultimately I'll be lucky to recover half of my costs... My advice to you is to stay away from this one. You'll probably have better luck with this board running a lower wattage cpu- more power demand seemed to bring more problems. FYI there are mobos with better power phase setups for this money out there.
Was this review helpful?
GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD5 R5 Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ 3-Way CrossFireX&3-Way SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD5 R5 Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ 3-Way CrossFireX&3-Way SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-990F5R5
   2015-10-07 05:06:01
Reviewed by Phillip Cummins from Kodak, TN US

The Good:    I had the first version of this board when it was released back in 2011. I lost that board to a lighting strike that burned out the VRM section, the CPU survived though. This is still a good board for gaming or moderate OverClocking.
The Squirrelly:    The only Con I can think of : If you are going back and redoing a board to add better audio capabilities, you could have also added more USB 3.0 ports than what it started out with!!
Pro Tip:    So far - This is the only AMD motherboard that I have found that will let you run a video card in each PCIe slot!! If you are into FOLDING, BITCOIN, Ect,Ect, this means that you can HAVE FIVE (5) video cards running off of 1 board. I have this setup as my folding rig with FOUR (4) R9 280x's and a R9 290x. I also have the Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7 motherboard as my Home Server. It has SIX (6) PCIe slots but it will only let you run FOUR (4) video cards. If you look around at other AMD motherboards, almost all of them stop at 4 PCIe slots.
Was this review helpful?
Supermicro A1SRM-2558F-O Intel Atom C2558/ DDR3/ SATA3/ V&4GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard & CPU Combo
Supermicro A1SRM-2558F-O Intel Atom C2558/ DDR3/ SATA3/ V&4GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard & CPU Combo
Part: MB-A1RM25
   2015-07-09 08:14:13
Reviewed by Clueless from Redwood City, CA US

The Good:    quad Intel GigE, 6 SATA, real server management support, decent computing power but very modest power consumption. Small form factor. Very good documentation on web site. BIOS update(s) and utilities worked well. A big improvement over the inexpensive desktop board (supporting ECC) that I tried first. Will go straight to this board (or other Supermicro) in the future for my server needs. Regarding power consumption, I measured a total draw from the wall at only 18W. That is this board, with Seasonic SS-300ET and a Samsung 850 EVO. While running OpenBSD 5.7. Running "openssl speed" does not increase that measurably.
The Squirrelly:    Not inexpensive. Valuable server features can make use and installation more complicated than for a typical desktop board. Only three fan speed settings, which appear to apply simultaneously to all three case fans. Fan control only works with 4 wire, PWM fans. Requires UDIMMs, which are more expensive than standard DDR3 DIMMs. Only available UDIMMs on QVL are much more expensive than standard DDR3. ( But I used them anyway )
Pro Tip:    Must choose power supply that works with Intel Haswell, so it will stay in regulation at the very power required here.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock B85M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel B85/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
ASRock B85M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel B85/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
Part: MB-B85MITX
   2014-09-30 12:36:58
Reviewed by JohmM from Marshall, WI US

The Good:    New version 4 sata ports, plus esata. USB 3.0 motherboard header. 1600 ram support. HDMI out. Works with core i3 4360 with bios 1.80 or later mine came with ver. 2.00 I updated it to ver. 2.20.
The Squirrelly:    Everything was new that I installed with this motherboard. When I went to do windows 7 rating it showed hardware change, refresh now WHAT? tells me that something was installed on it before. Iv'e built about 10 computers and this is the first one that's showed that. Had to reinstall realtek HD audio drivers headphones didn't work at first but all is good now.
Pro Tip:    Great motherboard everything works that I've tested. Samsung 840 Evo 120Gb, 1 Tb WD black, Team Vulcan DDR3 2x4Gb TLYD38G1600HC9DC01. Ram showed up as 1333 just set to 1600 in bios.
Was this review helpful?
Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z Republic of Gamers Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE ATX Motherboard
Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z Republic of Gamers Socket AM3+/ AMD 990FX/ DDR3/ CrossFireX & Quad SLI/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE ATX Motherboard
Part: MB-CRSH5FZ
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful:
   2012-12-28 11:41:09
Reviewed by gpscientist from Tracy, CA US

The Good:    Several years ago I upgraded to an i7, 8 threaded an electromagnetic code, & got a speed-up of 8. I was hoping to get a speed-up of something close to 4 more with the AMD FX-8350 (Black Ed)+Asus CROSSHAIR V FORMULA-Z combo using the new VEX vector operations that do 4 floating ops/command. When I turned on VEX in the compiler I got a 5% speed-up. I studied the resulting assembler code, made changes, & now have a 15% speed-up. If I figure out how to make a signigicant increase in speed, I'll update this posting (if I can).
The Squirrelly:    I haven't done assembly coding for a long time, so I might be overlooking something.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock Rack E3C224-4L LGA1150/ Intel C224/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ V&4GbE/ ATX Server Motherboard
ASRock Rack E3C224-4L LGA1150/ Intel C224/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ V&4GbE/ ATX Server Motherboard
Part: MB-E3C2244
   2014-04-24 16:40:08
Reviewed by Anonymous from ,

The Good:    I am very happy with this product. Currently using it for a test machine for MS 2008 R2 Hyper-v. Got two intel 3500 series in RAID0 and two Seagate Constellation ES.3 HD in RAID0. 32GB total of Kingston ValueRAM KVR16N11K2/16. Everything flies.
The Squirrelly:    Go for it.
Pro Tip:    I would definitely buy again
Was this review helpful?
ASRock G41M-VS3 R2.0 Core 2 Quad/ Intel G41/ DDR3/ A&V&L/ MATX Motherboard
ASRock G41M-VS3 R2.0 Core 2 Quad/ Intel G41/ DDR3/ A&V&L/ MATX Motherboard
Part: MB-G41MVS3
   2014-11-20 04:37:38
Reviewed by Alexander Gutman from Marlborough, MA US

The Good:    Makes a perfect Hackintosh. No DSDT required for Mavericks. Everything (sleep included) works OOB when using Multibeast 6.4 (the Atheros driver needs to be selected for the onboard LAN chip, AFAIR). Takes cheap quad-core CPUs like Q6600 and up to 8 GB of RAM.
The Squirrelly:    Offers no PCIE x1 slot, so no possibility to install a USB 3.0 adapter.
Pro Tip:    Be sure to install RAM DIMMs with bus frequencies no higher than 1333 MHz. DIMMs with higher frequencies will make this m/b hang at power-up without even POSTing.
Was this review helpful?
 
   2014-11-16 23:18:28
Reviewed by Joshua Gordon from Raleigh, NC US

The Good:    This thing can take every LGA775 modded Xeon I can throw at it, including (but not limited to) my beloved E5450. The bus speed and ability to take DDR3 put it above most other boards for this mod. ASRock also tends to keep bios support alive for ages. The small size makes it easy to work with.
The Squirrelly:    No USB 3 or SATA 3 and only 1 PCIe slot. Maximum system bus of 1333.
Pro Tip:    One of the more reliable board I have used.
Was this review helpful?
GIGABYTE GA-H110M-A LGA1151/ Intel H110/ DDR4/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-H110M-A LGA1151/ Intel H110/ DDR4/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ MicroATX Motherboard
Part: MB-H110M-A
   2016-02-14 14:51:30
Reviewed by XL from New Haven, CT US

The Good:    Has all the necessary components for a functioning computer. Provides 1 USB3.0 header and 4 SATA3 headers. 2 PCI slots and 1 PCI X16 slot are also included. The motherboard is excellent with a manual online that goes into detail about different cable connections. The online manual was very helpful for a first-time builder.
The Squirrelly:    One drawback is that if a GPU is installed into the only PCI X16 slot, one of the other PCI x1 slots is blocked, leaving only one available PCI x1 slot. The PCI x1 header could be better positioned so it is still available without a raiser.
Pro Tip:    Better positioning PCI x1 header.
Was this review helpful?
ASRock H81M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel H81/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
ASRock H81M-ITX LGA1150/ Intel H81/ DDR3/ SATA3&USB3.0/ A&GbE/ Mini-ITX Motherboard
Part: MB-H81MITX
   2016-03-26 08:49:38
Reviewed by kennytacos from Little Falls, MN US

The Good:    Worked out of the box with my Intel Core i5 4460 processor. I was very hesitant about buying this motherboard with that cpu but SuperBiiz DOES have the new BIOS version. I like where the connectors are placed on this motherboard; makes for great cable management for a clean mini-ITX build (I used a Corsair 250D) See photos of my completed build on pcpartpicker here: http://pcpartpicker.com/b/fgvV3C
The Squirrelly:    ALMOST HAD A SATA CONNECTOR BREAK OFF! It's extremely loose and was bent way back at a 45 degree angle when I was just about finished with my build. If that connector had broken off, I would have been screwed because there's only 2 sata connectors, and I have two storage devices (240GB SSD and a 1TB HDD). For how much money this board saved me I'm not too mad about it, I'm just relieved it works. Hoping and praying it doesn't fail in the future...
Pro Tip:    Make sure your sata cables aren't putting any sort of stress on the connectors because they ARE cheap and flimsy. If by chance you're building in a Corsair 250D with a Corsair H100i GTX liquid cpu cooler, the tubes will not fit around the rear I/O. HOWEVER you can mount it with the tubes towards the front if you're willing to A: not have an intake fan, or B: mount the radiator in an unconventional position with only a couple screws to gain the clearance to keep the 140mm intake (which I did and highly recommend). See my completed build on pcpartpicker for more information: http://pcpartpicker.com/b/fgvV3C
Was this review helpful?
 
   2014-09-21 15:10:08
Reviewed by Susan Miller from Danbury, WI US

The Good:    easy setup up and running rock solid. I am using this for HTPC CASE: iStar S-0112-DT CPU: 4130T MEM: 4G (2X2G) Gskill 1600 SSD: Corsair 60G OS: openELEC
The Squirrelly:    None
Was this review helpful?
Supermicro H8DG6-F-O Dual Socket G34/ AMD SR5690/ V&2GbE/ Extended ATX Server Motherboard, Retail
Supermicro H8DG6-F-O Dual Socket G34/ AMD SR5690/ V&2GbE/ Extended ATX Server Motherboard, Retail
Part: MB-H8DG6F
   2013-02-20 16:36:42
Reviewed by Thom Stansfield from Salt Lake City, UT US

The Good:    This board is great! I had zero installation problems and my server is humming nicely. I was nervous because I couldn't find any documentation on whether or not this board would support the new Abu Dhabi AMD processors, but my 6344's were recognized right from the get go. I'm also running 64 GB of RAM using 8x8GB Kingston KVR13R9D4K4 ECC modules. I'm going to try bumping that to 128GB and see how that goes. My Dynatron A6's fit in just fine as well. Overall I'm happy.
The Squirrelly:    I'm having a hard time getting processor temps and fan speed information. Still trying to figure out why.
Pro Tip:    Nothing tricky with this board, I had a straight-forward installation. Keep in mind that it is an EATX board, so be sure to have an EATX case. I know some Supermicro boards have required a Supermicro EATX case, but this board is not one.
Was this review helpful?


Receive exclusive email offers, coupons, and more!

Write one!
Second order from SuperBiiz
I was so pleased with my first order from SuperBiiz that I came back for more. The price for the products, quick shipping and getting what was advertised will bring me back again for more.
-Building is better
See more testimonials