Customer Reviews
Search Category: Per Page:
Total: 436Page 20 of 44     Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next Next20
Intel Pentium G3258 Dual-Core Haswell Processor 3.2GHz 5.0GT/s 3MB LGA 1150 CPU, Retail
Intel Pentium G3258 Dual-Core Haswell Processor 3.2GHz 5.0GT/s 3MB LGA 1150 CPU, Retail
Part: G3258BOX
   2015-10-26 10:06:18
Reviewed by Anonymous from ,

The Good:    Great little Dual core designed for OC, got mine for under $65 and can OC to 4.9Ghz stably
The Squirrelly:    It is only a 2 core, not 2 core 4 threads, so very limited in its multitasking ability. Bought it for games (most games really only use 1-2 cores) but unable do do anything else while gaming (skype, browsing internet for tips, etc)
Pro Tip:    If you only need 1-2 cores for single tasking, this is the chip for you, and can overclock super easily without having to buy some crazy giant aftermarket cooling setup
Was this review helpful?
 
   2015-08-06 22:18:44
Reviewed by Anonymous from ,

The Good:    A refresh of one of the better processors in the past, this thing can punch up there with some of the higher performing processors of today like the 4690k. It's only a dual core, but it has hyper-threading and can handle most anything thrown at it, given that it's not bottle necked by something like a GT 740.
The Squirrelly:    Not much, best value-oriented processor available
Pro Tip:    Obviously there are better processors out there and spending more will get you better performance, but at around $50, nothing can beat this thing and it's a very good replacement for any older processor that is starting to show it's age.
Was this review helpful?
 
1 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:
   2015-06-05 16:50:02
Reviewed by a friend. from ,

The Good:    Well, um, it works? It fit into the motherboard that I bought... It's 64 bit...
The Squirrelly:    It can hardly do anything. It is a 20 year old processor. If I try to run at least 2 programs (not even games), the CPU (being only a dual core, in 2015 for crying out loud) often overloads, and the entire screen freezes for several seconds. I know for 100% that it is the CPU that is the cause of this problem. I have a GT 740 graphics card, 8GB DDR3 RAM, and a high quality gaming motherboard. I am extremely unimpressed with the performance of this card, and I will sell it to buy a new one very soon. I even overclocked this puppy to 4.0 GHz, and it still causes freezes.
Pro Tip:    Spend a few more dollars on a 4-core or a 6-core CPU instead. Try a CPU that does not have a 20 year old architecture.
Was this review helpful?
SYBA SY-VIA-4FC 4-Port Firewire 1394a PCI Card, Retail
SYBA SY-VIA-4FC 4-Port Firewire 1394a PCI Card, Retail
Part: GW-1394_3P
 Works very well  2007-01-13 21:08:53
Reviewed by Anonymous from Saint-Laurent, PQ CA

This PCI slot card will give you 4 different ports for firewire. This is actually very good as I have many devices that have firewire, such as my external hard drives. I find it to be slightly faster than USB. A good product that is not too expensive.
Was this review helpful?
 
 Good Firewire Card  2006-08-19 16:09:58
Reviewed by Anonymous from Cincinnati, OH US

I really like this product because my Shuttle computer does not have many Firewire slots and this is an easy upgrade. It works great and supports fast transfer speeds.
Was this review helpful?
SYBA 5-Port USB 2.0 PCI Controller Card
SYBA 5-Port USB 2.0 PCI Controller Card
Part: GW-USB2NEC
 Not bad  2007-01-15 16:36:55
Reviewed by Gummy from Saint-Laurent, PQ CA

The thing that surprised me the most of this PCI host adapter is the design of the PCB. As you can see in the picture, it is nearly like a triangle. The design does not seem to pose much advantages though, unless less material would mean less expensive. This is a great fix if you want some extra USB 2.0 ports. Works great.
Was this review helpful?
 
 Lots of Ports  2006-11-13 07:49:41
Reviewed by Plaq from Hemet, CA US

The label on this card is generic, but it has all the ports you need. Internal and external (4) enable access to many different peripherals. The new tape backup drives are available in USB for internal or external use. This card is compatible.
Was this review helpful?
 
 Good card  2006-10-20 09:49:48
Reviewed by Wesley Cain from Ottumwa, IA US

Having one internal USB port makes this a very nice card to have. Having 4 on the outside is just expected. Easy to install from a nice brand.
Was this review helpful?
 
All Reviews (4) >>

SYBA 5-Port USB 2.0 PCI Controller Card
SYBA 5-Port USB 2.0 PCI Controller Card
Part: GW-USB_2.0
 Works great  2007-01-13 21:14:14
Reviewed by Anonymous from Saint-Laurent, PQ CA

This is a great PCI host adapter if you need some extra USB 2.0 ports. They work all fine to me and are just as fast as the ports on my motherboard. Great for budget users.
Was this review helpful?
 
 Great card  2006-11-13 07:47:40
Reviewed by Plaq from Hemet, CA US

I needed more USB ports for a server install I was doing. Got this card and dropped it in. Fired right up and now we are installing loads of external hard drives. Great
Was this review helpful?
 
 5 quick USB2.0 ports  2006-10-20 09:52:33
Reviewed by Wesley Cain from Ottumwa, IA US

Card is easy to install as long as you have an open PCI slot that isn't crowded by one of todays massive graphics cards.
Was this review helpful?
 
All Reviews (5) >>

Topower i-Rack TOP-MRA200B For 3.5 inch HD No Enclosure Mobile Rack
Topower i-Rack TOP-MRA200B For 3.5 inch HD No Enclosure Mobile Rack
Part: HD-MRA200B
 awesome  2007-08-11 05:15:41
Reviewed by Anonymous from Visalia, CA US

works great, best deal for removable no need for drive trays. no vibrations, plenty of room to breath. no fans, means no breakable heater.
Was this review helpful?
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 7200RPM SATA3/SATA 6.0 GB/s 64MB Hard Drive (3.5 inch)
Seagate Barracuda ST1000DM003 1TB 7200RPM SATA3/SATA 6.0 GB/s 64MB Hard Drive (3.5 inch)
Part: HD-ST1TAS3
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful:
   2013-09-26 17:21:44
Reviewed by undead soul from Abington, PA US

The Good:    The 64MB cache keeps the hard drive running smoothly when activity is high. The trade-offs as you go higher in storage capacity are not worth it as of 2013. For example, the 3TB drives typically have slower access time than this drive.
The Squirrelly:    As critical as I can be at times, it is difficult to knock this hard drive. Nothing negative to report here.
Pro Tip:    Do not buy just for storage capacity alone. Always think of the speed of performance (access time, transfer rates, etc.). If they made a similar drive with more than 64MB cache I may have bought it instead.
Was this review helpful?
Seagate ST2000DM001 2TB 7200RPM SATA3/SATA 6.0 GB/s 64MB Hard Drive (3.5 inch)
Seagate ST2000DM001 2TB 7200RPM SATA3/SATA 6.0 GB/s 64MB Hard Drive (3.5 inch)
Part: HD-ST22TAS
   2012-08-15 20:34:00
Reviewed by Anonymous from Ashland, OH US

The Good:    The price was right and it works great. I copied 1.5TB between this drive and a comparable Seagate 3TB model. I reached continous write speeds of up tp 200MBs. By the time the drive was half full, the speed was down to 150-160 continous. This is quite impressive since this happens on a SATA 2 machine. It is around 75MBs faster than any of my other drives.When copying from an older SATA 1 drive, the speed was only 50-60 MBs.
The Squirrelly:    None so far
Pro Tip:    It seems that working with two similar drives can dramatically increase their efficecy. I copied from a Samsung 1TB drive that was one of the fastest available a year ago and only reached 125 MBs.
Was this review helpful?
Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 3TB 7200RPM SATA3/SATA 6.0 GB/s 64MB Hard Drive (3.5 inch)
Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 3TB 7200RPM SATA3/SATA 6.0 GB/s 64MB Hard Drive (3.5 inch)
Part: HD-ST3TAS3
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful:
   2013-09-16 11:42:29
Reviewed by PhilV from Omaha, NE US

The Good:    Has been rock solid x11 months in a ZFS RAID a FreeNAS server.
The Squirrelly:    none.
Pro Tip:    Although these have had no issues after 11 months, if using consumer-grade hard drives, be sure to have a live spare in the RAID.
Was this review helpful?
Seagate ST4000DM000 4TB 5900RPM SATA3/SATA 6.0 GB/s 64MB Hard Drive (3.5 inch)
Seagate ST4000DM000 4TB 5900RPM SATA3/SATA 6.0 GB/s 64MB Hard Drive (3.5 inch)
Part: HD-ST400DM
   2014-01-08 16:49:19
Reviewed by Matthew Litwin from San Francisco, CA US

The Good:    It's a cheap 4tb drive
The Squirrelly:    The spin up from standby on this drive is incredibly loud and takes about 7 seconds for your computer to become responsive. For a backup drive, it spins down constantly. Power management is not configurable, at last on MacOS. It does not honor power management settings so you cannot configure it to not spin down. This is a nightmare if you made this capsule drive for time machine. It will make you insane.
Pro Tip:    If you return this under warranty to Seagate, even if it is 2 months old, they will send you a refurb drive. Yuck.
Was this review helpful?
Western Digital VelociRaptor WD1000DHTZ 1TB 10000 RPM SATA3/SATA 6.0 GB/s 64MB Hard Drive (3.5inch)
Western Digital VelociRaptor WD1000DHTZ 1TB 10000 RPM SATA3/SATA 6.0 GB/s 64MB Hard Drive (3.5inch)
Part: HD-W10DHTZ
   2012-08-05 18:29:00
Reviewed by Anonymous from Raleigh, NC US

The Good:    I converted two WD Caviar black drives to 500Gb and 1Tb Velociraptor drives respectively. The difference is amazing. Bootup is much faster and all applications load with incredible speed. These drives come very close to solid state drive performance. In fact, for heavy write to drive applications, such as video rendering, they are superior to SS drives. Admittedly, read speeds are not as fast as SS drives, but you get a lot more disk space for your money. I intend to buy two more.
The Squirrelly:    Nothing really. These 2.5 inch drives come in a heat sink 3.5 inch case, and uses standard SATA or RAID configuration.
Pro Tip:    These are 10,000 rpm drives and even with the heat sinks will run hot under heavy loads. Make sure your case has enough air flow and you should be fine.
Was this review helpful?


Receive exclusive email offers, coupons, and more!

Write one!
Good find
Was looking for a processor and stumbled on this site. Read a few of the reviews and decided to try them out. Really glad I did, friendly and fast service. I would absolutely recommend them to a fr...
(more)
-Anonymous
See more testimonials